New Zealand Schools’ Debating » Admin

By: Debating  06-Dec-2011

Below is the timetable for Nationals 2010! If you are in Wellington next weekend, feel free to come and watch.

Friday 06 August

6:00 pm            Opening of the New Zealand Finals. Briefing for all teams.

6:30 pm            Limited preparation debate

Saturday 07 August

8:00 am            Breakfast at Rutherford House, Victoria University of Wellington, corner     of  Lambton Quay and Bunny S

8:30 am            Topic for Round 1 announced (one hour preparation).

           Theme: Privatisation

9:30 am            Round 1

11:00 am           Morning tea.

11:30 am           Topic for Round 2 announced (one hour preparation).

                        Theme: The European Union

12:30 pm           Round 2

1:45 pm            Lunch

2:30 pm            Topic for Round 3 announced (one hour preparation).

3:30 pm            Round 3

5:00 pm            Return to Ibis Hotel.

7:00 pm            Quiz and pizza night for competitors at Rutherford House.

9:30 pm            Competitors return to Ibis Hotel.

Sunday 08 August

8:30 am            Breakfast

9:00 am            Topic for Round 4 announced (one hour preparation).

10:00 am          Round 4

11:30 am           Lunch

12:30 pm          Topic for Round 5 announced (one hour preparation).

1:30 pm            Round 5.

3:00 pm            Semi-finalists announced, topic for semi-finals announced (one hour preparation).

4:00 pm            Semi-finals.

5:30 pm            Briefing for all teams. Sides for the Grand Final announced.

7:15 pm            Formal Dinner at Zibbibo Restaurant.

Monday 09 August

8.45am             Official photographs of all teams on the front steps of Parliament

10:00 am          GRAND FINAL at Legislative Council Chamber, Parliament Buildings.

11:30 am           Presentation of prizes.

12:00 pm          Morning Tea in the Grand Hall

Other products and services from Debating


New Zealand Schools’ Debating » Alumni

In the time between the date of appointment and the tournament, the coach will be expected to make themselves available to coach the team on mutually acceptable dates for the team members and the coach.We would prefer it if the coach could also attend the National Finals of the NZ Schools Debating Champs in Wellington from May 27 – May 30.


New Zealand Schools’ Debating » Nationals - nationals

Twelve regional teams from Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Hawke’s Bay, Central North Island, Wellington, Kahurangi-Marlborough, Canterbury and Otago-Southland took part in the competition. The 2011 National Finals of the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Championships were held from 27 to 30 May at Victoria University of Wellington.


New Zealand Schools’ Debating » Admin - admin

The NZ Schools’ Debating Council has opened applications for the position of coach of the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Team for the 2012 World Schools’ Debating Championships in Cape Town, South Africa, to be held from 17 – 27 January, 2012.


New Zealand Schools’ Debating » Worlds

The New Zealand Schools Debating Council has now opened applications for the following positions for the National Finals of the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Championships. The Council will meet the flight and accommodation costs of the Chief Adjudicator should they hail from outside Wellington. The Chief Adjudicator heads the Motions Committee for Nationals. Appointments will be made early the following week.


New Zealand Schools’ Debating » Nationals

The Wellington team of James Gavey, Thomas Mitchell (Wellington College) and Duncan McLachlan successfully affirned the motion “That all alcohol advertising should be banned”, winning in a 2-1 split decision. The best five speakers at the tournament were named as members of the Russell McVeagh New Zealand Schools’ Debating Team, which will represent New Zealand at an international tournament in early 2011.