Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust Grants

By: Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust  05-Apr-2012

Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust provides a number of different grants to groups and individuals each year. These are:

Tertiary Education Grant and Scholarships

2011 Education Grant Recipients

1.           Tertiary Education Grants

             A total of 25 successful applicants each received a grant of $500.00: 

Tia Aoake

Bach. of Computer Graphic Design

Jacqueline Bidois

NZ Diploma in Business

Emma Brown

Bach. of Engineering

Graeme Cashmore

Bach. of Science (Physiotherapy)

Melissa Duncan

Bach. of Science (Double Major Sport)

Jamie Flint

Bach. of Midwifery

Anthony Flint

Certificate in Carpentry

Sharnie Gardiner

BA Major in Maori

Quinn Hireme

Diploma in Music Production & Performance

Larissa Johnson

Bach. of Social Services

Alice King

Matauranga Maori Degree

Whauhuia Koopu

Bach. of Law

Marama Marshall

Poutuarongo Matauranga Maori

Dane McCollum

Bach. in Management Studies

Ainsley Papp-Peka


Elisha Rolleston

Bach. of Arts - Double Major

Manu Tarau

Bach. of Matauranga Maori

Yvonne Taura

MSc Biological Science

Norma Te Whaiti

Matauranga Maori Iwi & Hapu

Summer Bennett

Bach. Communication Studies

Heather Matthews

Bach. of Education

Zara Motutere

Bach. of Arts & Diploma in Arts

Moira Seddon

Bach. of Arts

Yana Butler

Bach. Teaching / Bach. Sport & Leisure

Te Hau Paeroa Hona


2.         Tertiary Education Scholarships:

            Four scholarships were awarded for outstanding achievement of $1,500 to Yvonne Taura; and $1,000 each to Yana Butler, Te Hau Paeroa Hona and Melissa Duncan.   The Trustees congratulate all of the above recipients and wish them well for the rest of their studies and every success in their chosen fields.

Koroua / Kuia Grants

Kaumatua Grants are available to owners or descendants of an owner in Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust.  Applicants must be 65 years of age or older at 31 December each year.  Applications must be received by 30 November each year.

  • Applications for 2011 Kaumatua Grants closed on 30 November 2011.

In December 2010, there were 117 kaumatua grant applicants paid $150.00 each.  

Tangihanga Grants

The deceased must be an owner or descendant of an owner in the Trust.  Please complete the form below if you wish to apply for a Tangihanga Grant.

General Community Grants

If you wish to request a general community grant please put your request in writing to the Trust.   

2011 Community Grants paid:

  • A donation of $1,000 was given to Hui Aranga 2011 for their event in April 2011.
  • Matakana Island Rugby Team received $1,000.

Sporting Sponsorship Grants

This grant is available for amateur sports only.  Only one application per applicant per year and all applications must be received prior to the event commencing.  Please send a covering letter outlining details of your request for sponsorship.

2011 Sporting Grant Recipients:

  • Cody Joss received a $250.00 grant to attend the World Secondary Schools Golf Champs in South Africa in April 2011.
  • Sonny Hirini received $500 to represent NZ at the Under 19 Beach Volleyball World Championships in Croatia in June 2011.

The information in this article was current at 27 Mar 2012

Contact Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust

Email - none provided

Print this page

Other products and services from Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust



Tauwhao Te Ngare Trust was established on 14 May, 1982 by the original Trustees of Pereki Witooke, David Murray, Ted Rolleston, William Gardiner, Turi Te Kani, Ron Taingahue and Johnny Taikato. The Trust is based on Rangiwaea Island and is responsible for the development of an economic business based on the utilization of its land for horticultural.