Burling Wins North Island Longboard Champs

By: Slide Magazine  05-Apr-2012


Burling Wins North Island Longboard Champs


Micheal Burling pic:CPL

A massive thank you to all those who made the trip to be a part of the 2010 North Island Longboard Champs.  Although the weather wasn't on our side, at least there were contestable waves!  Hopefully some of you managed to hang around this morning and enjoy the more solid swell with offshore winds that hit today.  We hope you all enjoyed yourselves and will be keen to join us again for the 2011 North Island Longboard Champs.

Micheal Burling pic:CPL

For those who were unable to make the prize giving at the Smashed Pipi, the results were as follows:

Prizing Giving at Smash Pipi. pic:CPL
Micheal Burling at with his First place prize. pic:CPL

Fletcher Construction Opens Mens:

1st:  Michael Burling

2nd: Owen Barnes

3rd:  Dylan Barnfield

4th:  Kelly Ryan

SONY Open Womens:

1st:  Belinda Goodwin

2nd:  Mischa Davis

3rd:  Shelley Jones

4th:  Hannah Howard

Sanuk Over 50's:

1st:  Michael Thompson

2nd:  Paul Browne

3rd:  Rupert Newbold

4th:  Rob Bayes

Skull Candy Under 18's:

1st:  Branko Vela

2nd:  Jae Kilgour

3rd:  Blake Zuill

4th:  Sam Haven

The Morris Surfboard Charity Raffle was won by Paul (Brownie) Browne..and a total of $370 was raised and will be donated to the Westpac Rescue Helicopter Trust.

There were many people who contributed to ensuring the day ran smoothly, so..

A few big thank you's to:

-  The judging team:  Trevor Medcalf, Gavin Bisman, Dan Kosoof and Jeremy Western.  Your tireless efforts were greatly appreciated.

-  The volunteer team:  Cushla, Sophie, Brooke, Jasmine, Ai, Natalie and Sean - couldn't have asked for better help!

-  To my partner Tom - thank you for being my rock and giving your endless support and guidance.

-  To Tony Baker - it was fantastic to have you on board this year.

To our hugely generous sponsors:

Fletcher Construction:  www.fletcherconstruction.co.nz

SONY:  www.sony.co.nz

Sanuk:  www.sanuk.co.nz

Skull Candy:  www.skullcandy.co.nz

FCS:  http://www.hydrosurf.co.nz/shop/SURF/FCS

Smith Optics:  www.smithoptics.co.nz

Steve Hoskin / NZ Surf Art:  www.nzsurfart.com

Ultimate Surf Shop:  www.ultimatesurf.co.nz

The Orewa Longboard Club:  www.orewalongboardclub.com

Morris Surfboards:  www.morris-surfboards.co.nz

Slide Magazine: www.slidemagazine.com

The information in this article was current at 27 Mar 2012

Contact Slide Magazine

Email - none provided

Print this page

Other news and updates from Slide Magazine


19th Annual Lifeguard Longboard Nationals 2011

Division winner Murray Dix who surfed the entire Tropical Cyclone Atu swell from start to finish relished in the clean left handers breaking in the final.Murray Dix - MHVLS - Masters Division Winner.In the Juniors Division there was a 10 strong field of Under 18yr surfers from Waipu Cove, Muriwai, United North Piha and Mangawhai Heads.