Aroha Quartet announces its 2012 programme

By: Aroha String Quartet  05-Apr-2012

The Aroha Quartet's 2012 programme kicks off with a return to the Mulled Wine Concerts in Paekakariki on Sunday 24 June. Beginning with Haydn's "Sunrise" Quartet, this concert celebrates two important composer anniversaries: John Cage and Claude Debussy. In the hypnotic "Quartet in Four Parts" by Cage, each movement focuses on one of the four seasons. The concert is rounded off by Debussy's marvellous Quartet.

A programme of cello quintets, including the sublime Quintet in C by Franz Schubert, forms the second part of the Quartet's 2012 season. For this concert, to be performed in September and October in Hamilton, Greytown, Lower Hutt and Christchurch, the Quartet will be joined by the NZSO Section Principal Cello Andrew Joyce.

The Schubert is coupled with a new quintet by young Hungarian composer Peter Tornyai. This work was written for the Aroha Quartet while it was attending the International Summer Academy in Austria in late 2010. Tornyai's quintet begins with the final notes of the Schubert and contains several other references to the earlier work. It makes extensive use of scordatura, where the instruments are retuned to produce new sonorities and harmonies.

Haydn's "Sunrise" quartet is the other work in this programme.

Contact Aroha String Quartet

Email - none provided

Print this page

Other news and updates from Aroha String Quartet


Full steam ahead for the Aroha String Quartet

The single movement string quintet takes its inspiration from Schubert's remarkable Quintet in C but while it contains quotations from Schubert, its extensive use of scordatura and harmonics creates a very different sound world, with fascinating, earcatching textures and sonorities.